Gingersnaps Review

Hello! Today I shall be reviewing Gingersnaps by Cathy Cassidy. I’ve never written a review for a Cathy Cassidy book but I love all of her books. She’s an awesome person and it was really nice to see her win Queen of Teen when I was there. She is actually the person that got me into reading, I suppose you could call them, romantic, teenage books. Thank you Cathy! Seriously, Cathy rocks.

Is Ginger’s best friend really her biggest rival?

‘You can make a wish come true, if you’re determined . . .’

Gone are the days when Ginger was an outsider, always on the fringes of friendship. She’s swapped puppy fat and pigtails for make-up and hair straighteners and never looked back – until now. Ginger and Shannon are best mates, but when they befriend lonely Emily, everything changes. Even the saxophone-playing boy in the trilby hat can’t help – he’s part of the problem. Are Ginger and Shannon drifting apart or can they stay best friends forever?

The first Cathy Cassidy book I read was Sundae Girl and I thought it was the best thing ever. It still is pretty good, I have to say. After that, I read all of her books, which I loved but they weren’t quite as good as Sundae Girl. When I read Gingersnaps I was so excited because I haven’t decided if I love it more than Sundae Girl, but it was more in the style of Sundae Girl and I instantly loved it. Only a few months ago I re-read Gingersnaps, so I still think it is a really good book. Mostly it’s a nice book to read because it’s not over complicated at all. It’s strange to think I first read this seven years ago. God I’m getting old.

I love Gingersnaps because of Sam the saxophone player. Personally, I think saxophones are really vibey and I wish I could play one. The saxophone in Careless Whisper is the best. Sam is a really nice person, and I like how he tries to bring out the best in Ginger. They make a cute couple, it has to be said. He is pretty smart for, what- a twelve year old? Sam and Ginger seem older but in a good way because when I was younger I liked how it showed that some of us younger people are mature even though there are a lot of immature idiots at that age.

Was there blue lemonade somewhere in this novel? I vaguely remember something about it, so if there was blue lemonade in there then that’s fab. It’s all the little quirky things I love about this book. I love the title ‘Gingersnaps’ because I thought it would be a book about starting a baking thing or something BUT it isn’t. Ginger is a swaggy name as well. Thank god Sam wasn’t called Spice otherwise that would be the end of that relationship. The house boat thing is awesome- not that I want to live on a boat. Oh, and let’s hear it one last time for Sam’s saxophone!

Even if you aren’t eleven anymore, I was actually eight the first time I read it, I think you would still adore this book because the cuteness factor is off the scale.

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

