Sounds Live Feels Live Review

Hello!

I would like to share with you my review of yet another concert that I recently attended in London! Wow I feel as though I have been so busy going to shows recently- look out for my final concert review for a while next Sunday. After that I am going to see a musical and then I am done with shows until a festival in the summer.

So, the act that I went to see was ‘5 seconds of summer’, who are not only one of my sister’s favourite bands but they are also my favourite band (do duos count as a band?). I cannot begin to describe how excited I was for the show! Unfortunately, I had to sell my ticket last year so I couldn’t believe that I was finally going to see my favourite band. We arrived after the doors had opened as we weren’t bothered about missing the support act and surprisingly we didn’t have to wait at all to get into the actual arena. They were performing at The O2 so I thought that it would take a while but we went straight in and sat down for the second half of the support act. Our seats were right at the front of our tier and we felt that we were not too far from the stage.

The support act was ‘Jessarae’ (did I spell that right?!), who I had once again never heard of before. I didn’t personally think they were extraordinary or memorable but I thought they were pretty standard support act. Can I just quickly mention that the singer looked like a mini Robert Pattinson (I think it was the eyebrows). The songs were lively and of the pop genre, which I think was a good match for the event. I liked the fact that they seemed to be amazed that they were playing at The O2, it looked as if they were in awe of all of the fans there and I just found that rather touching. They were a lovely band; I really liked their song ‘No Warning’.

Wow. When 5sos came on it felt so surreal. I was surprised that they came on to ‘Carry On’ as I thought that they would come on to one of their more well-known tracks but I still think it was a powerful entrance onto the stage. After that they launched straight into ‘Hey Everybody’, which was such a high energy performance- I loved it! The set list had been planned out really well- they had a cluster of songs off of ‘Sounds good feels good’ followed by songs off of the previous album. They ended with four of their most energetic songs. I liked the songs they chose for the encore ‘She’s Kinda Hot’ and ‘She looks so perfect’ because everybody was dancing and singing along to them.

My favourite part was when they performed ‘Amnesia’ because Calum asked the fans to sing along with him. It was beautiful the way the whole arena lit up with flashlights and the sounds of all of the fans voices united. It was also very emotional when they sang ‘Beside You’ followed by ‘Vapor’, which Luke said was probably his favourite song that 5sos had ever written. There were also lots of flashlights for those performances as well as many tears for me. I also thought that it was really cool for them to create a little song for the show because that meant that we had our own personal experience compared to going to other shows. The song that they came up with was ‘Fish and Chips’. It was such an incredible night!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

