Forever Book Review

Hiya! As promised I am going to be reviewing ‘Forever’ by Judy Blume.

Katherine and Michael meet at a New Year’s Eve party. They’re attracted to each other, they grow to love each other. And once they’ve decided their love is forever, they make love.

It’s the beginning of an intense and exclusive relationship, with a future all planned. Until Katherine’s parents insist that she and Michael put their love to the test with a summer apart…

So I know that this is a much loved book but I have to say I didn’t really like it. Forever had a lot of good reviews, which made me really excited to read it. Unfortunately I didn’t like this book much at all. There’s not anything specific that made me dislike it, but if you compare it to other books then for me there are many better books.

I really didn’t like Michael. I think he was described as ginger with a mole on his cheek. I think the charity shop has my book now so I can’t check that but I’m pretty sure that’s what he looked like. I’m used to having Theo James as the leading man in the books I read not George Weasley or something so I wasn’t impressed. For me it’s important to have leading men like Four, Edward Cullen and Thomas (from The Maze Runner) in books because when I read books I imagine myself as the leading female. Just to clarify, I have nothing against ginger people (my best friend’s ginger).

What even happened in this book? Not much probably as I can’t remember it. The first thing that comes to mind is Katherine wanting to go out with her tennis teacher at the end. Now that should have been the story. I would have loved to have heard about how that relationship went. Michael and Katherine were pretty boring together; it didn’t make for an exciting story. This book is supposed to be realistic but from my own knowledge this isn’t actually realistic. At least other YA romance books go way over the top and don’t pretend to be reality. The writing was so bland all those ellipses got on my nerves. I’ve always had a problem with ellipses because so many people overuse them.

I’m not being funny, but this book really chose its moments be descriptive. It went into detail about the wrong things and that’s all I’m saying about it. And the Ralph thing? Just gross. You’ll understand me if you’ve read it. I know this was like a hugely important book at the time so well done for that but times have changed and it really just didn’t cut it with me in this day and age. Even if I read this in the seventies I probably still wouldn’t like it though because of the characters. I can’t empathise with them at all; I wish they weren’t so mundane, it actually pains me.

Next week I’m going to review Ginger Snaps by Cathy Cassidy, which I actually like. Thanks for reading!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

