Eclipse Book Review

Hello!

The only book I can find in my room beginning with ‘E’ is Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer. I have googled books beginning with ‘E’ but I can’t find any others that I’ve read apart from Expecting to fly by Cathy Hopkins but I can’t remember it. I have Elegy by Tara Hudson, which I’m really excited to read! I know I’ve written a lot about Twilight but I really have no choice but to review it today. I’m going to make a compilation of everything I’ve ever said about… Don’t worry, next week I shall be reviewing Forever by Judy Blume, so it’ll be a bit different!

In the dead silence, all the details suddenly fell into place for me with a burst of intuition.

Something Edward didn’t want me to know. Something Jacob wouldn’t have kept from me…

It was never going to end, was it?

 

As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob – knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?

This book was basically a filler book. I wasn’t engaged as much as I was with the other Twilight books; it was just an unnecessary book. You could have put half of the contents in the other books or just cut it out. I didn’t like how the book focused on Victoria coming back to kill Bella when in the end it took like 5 minutes for Edward to kill her. Victoria’s extremely irritating!!

Plus, this book didn’t have much substance and I was- not bored, but- again- just not engaged as much. At the end of New Moon Victoria’s death could have been worked in there, so could Bella and Edward’s engagement. It really didn’t need that filler book- it would’ve been the perfect trilogy. I’m just saying I’ve only watched Eclipse about 5 times but I’ve watched the others except for New Moon like 20 times.

After Edward proposes at the end of New Moon, you’re left gagging for the next book (well I was anyway). I could not wait to get my hands on Eclipse to see what Bella’s decision would be… then it fell a bit flat. Breaking Dawn was more what I was hoping to read after New Moon. It felt like the pace slowed down a lot and I wanted the pace to stay fast/constant. There’s a lot of action in the other three books so it feels as though something is missing.

It was in Eclipse that I began to realise that Edward wasn’t all I thought he was. When I first read and watched Twilight, I thought Edward was flawless. After watching and reading Twilight many times, I’ve come to realise that actually Edward is subtly abusive. No one can deny that Edward is extremely controlling. Come on who would break their girlfriend’s car to stop them from seeing their best friend? Sometimes he doesn’t seem to even have any emotions, like when Bella and Jacob kissed in Eclipse he was just like ‘ok’.

I do still like the Twilight series as a whole, I’m just not very fond of Eclipse. Anyway, I would still encourage you to read the other books in the series. You don’t miss much if you don’t read Eclipse!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

