Romeo and Juliet Review- The Watermill Theatre

Hi!

It’s been a busy month attending lots of shows and concerts! I think I’m about half way through going to all of the events I had planned. It was a nice change from jumping around at gigs to sitting down and not even having to use my voice! The night after seeing ‘The Neighbourhood’ I went to see ‘Romeo and Juliet’ at The Watermill Theatre in Newbury.

The venue itself was lovely and quaint. I thought the spiralling staircase near the entrance and the glimpse at a part of the old water mill highlighted in green was magical. I was surprised at the compactness of the theatre but nevertheless it made the play even more intimate and engaging. It was a whole new experience for me and it must have been amazing for the people on the stools that were literally right next to the stage. I think that they used the venue so well- swinging from the stage to the balcony, standing around the edges of the circle and performing parts on the balcony near the band. The use of levels and spacing was so cleverly done; it was such a creative performance!

I loved how the show started with live music, involving the audience by getting them to sing parts of the songs. The actors were so talented, switching from playing an instrument to climbing up the ladder. The entire show was an original masterpiece! First of all, I loved the modern take on it. I thought it was ingenious to have the live music as well as the bar and for Romeo to find Juliet smoking a spliff. It was updated and fresh- much more relatable.

Overall, a very innovative and beautiful performance with incredible actors- a must see!

Love, Sydney

 

Leave a Reply

