The Neighbourhood Concert Review

Hello!

I would like to share with you my review of another concert I recently attended in London!

I went to see ‘The Neighbourhood’, who are one of my sister’s favourite bands- apparently they are part of her ‘deadly trio’. My sister has also forced me to listen to their music on multiple occasions so I came round to liking them like I had with ‘The 1975’. I have to admit, I wasn’t feeling excited about going and I almost didn’t go as I just felt so tired! I decided to go along anyway because I didn’t want to ditch my sister and I’m so glad I did!

We arrived after the doors had opened as we weren’t bothered about missing the support act and we didn’t have to wait at all to get into the venue (The Round House). We went in after Kevin Abstract had finished and we discovered that it wasn’t actually jam-packed. We decided to stay near the sound system at the back as it was easier to see there, but we were still surprisingly close! It was a really chill venue, we could just sit down on the floor and wait for the support act. I think that you were fairly close even if you were at the back so it was great!

I had never heard of or listened to ‘Mothxr’ before and I prepared myself to be underwhelmed as I was already in a negative mood. However, I thought they were absolutely amazing! Even though I didn’t know any of the songs I had a brilliant time dancing to the music. They brought so much energy and made everyone hype for ‘The Neighbourhood’. It was the perfect introduction to ‘The Neighbourhood’. I wouldn’t say they were particularly original but they were certainly memorable. Their music was the sort of music that you can’t help but head bang to and play when you want to have a rave.

It was a bit of shock when ‘The Neighbourhood’ came on as I hadn’t noticed a sudden change in lighting. So when I did see them I immediately went hysterical. I think they came on to ‘Ferrari’, which I didn’t know but then they went into ‘Greeting From Califournia’, which then got me into the ‘groove’ I suppose you could say. I think their set list was of a good length and there was a perfect mixture of songs from the ‘I Love You’ and ‘Wiped out!’. As I wasn’t an avid fan, I didn’t know who the other members of the band were- I only knew Jesse so I focused on him. Jesse literally just looked like a rock star- I was in awe of him. He moved around the stage easily and with such a huge presence about him; I couldn’t take my eyes off of him! On a side note, his outfit was awesome that night.

For me, the best part of the concert was when they performed ‘Daddy Issues’ as I think that’s when the crowd went the wildest. I also loved ‘Sweater Weather’ and ‘RIP to my youth’ as obviously those are their biggest hits so those were the times when the entire crowd was singing along. Towards the end I think Jesse interacted more with the audience as they sung more well-known lyrics. It was a really enthusiastic ending and I think that all of the songs were brilliant to dance to. I had such a good time seeing them so I would definitely recommend going to see ‘The Neighbourhood’ as well as ‘Mothxr’. I know I say ‘I would definitely recommend’ a lot but they were truly brilliant!

Love, Sydney

 

Leave a Reply

