Response to criticism of YA books

Hey!

Today I am going to share with you a ‘venty’ post from a year ago about the criticism that some YA books have received. I understand that everyone has their own opinion but today I would like to respond to some criticism. Here goes…

You may be aware that Stephen King said Stephenie Meyer “can’t write a darn. She’s not very good.” What is wrong with Stephenie Meyer? Obviously she can write a darn as over 100 million books have been sold worldwide of the Twilight saga. I really don’t understand why she gets so much hate. There are many, many more authors in the world that have written books much worse than her. Stephenie Meyer tells a beautiful story and I personally think she uses more advanced, appropriate language. There are descriptions in there that I think rival the likes of Harry Potter and The Hunger Games. In fact, I am of the opinion that Twilight has a much better story line than The Hunger Games.

The Fault in Our Stars has also been said to be written badly. I am intrigued to know what people think is written badly and how they would improve it. There’s no pleasing some people it seems. I can’t really talk because I can’t write but I really stand by it being amazingly written. Sorry bad word choice there oh dear. I think this book is ‘real’. This book is supposed to be something that many people can read, so I think this book should not necessarily be full of ambitious words but meaningful things that everyone can relate too.

Apparently, Divergent is now classed as ‘trashy’. Once again, I would like to ask why is it considered trashy?? I also read that it is really predictable. Well I didn’t think it was predictable. I don’t know if it’s just me but how often does the main character die? Even if it was predictable, that doesn’t take away anything from the rest of the story. Personally, I don’t find it the least bit trashy. Wait does that make sense? Well you know what I mean. It has a very respectable storyline with themes of love, sacrifice and bravery. “Fear doesn’t shut you down, it wakes you up.”

Well Good bye!

Oh and I would love to hear your views on famous YA books, positive or negative!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

