Love, Rosie Book Review

HEY THERE

I am so excited for this post because I’m going to be talking about Love, Rosie!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Love, Rosie. Sam Claflin and Lily Collins are two of my favourite actors so when they were cast as Alex and Rosie, I decided I had to read Love, Rosie.

Rosie and Alex are destined for one another, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, their relationship gets closer by the day, until Alex gets the news that his family is leaving Dublin and moving to Boston. At 17, Rosie and Alex have just started to see each other in a more romantic light. Devastated, the two make plans for Rosie to apply to colleges in the U.S. Her dreams for college, Alex, and a glamorous career dashed, Rosie stays in Dublin to become a single mother, while Alex pursues a medical career and a new love in Boston. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel, structured as a series of clever e-mails, letters, notes, and a trail of missed opportunities, Alex and Rosie find out that fate isn’t done with them yet. From the gifted author of PS, I Love You comes this charming, romantic, addictively page-turning novel that will keep readers laughing and guessing until the very last page.

This book is so unique and special, because it is all written in notes, letters, emails, texts etc. I’ve read books written as letters but they don’t have correspondence and they flow like a normal story and you hardly notice that they’re written in letter form. This is the realest story I’ve ever read, because it’s like a scrapbook of Rosie’s life and you can understand everything that she’s feeling- it’s so relatable. Whether she’s pouring her heart out in a letter to Alex, or sending a quick text- you get to see every part of Rosie, from her deepest thoughts to her flickering emotions.

I was utterly hooked by the book, as I kept wanting things to work out for Rosie, and for her to get together with Alex. It was so sad to see Rosie go through all of her problems as the book begins from the age of five, so I’d seen her grow up and become the person she is. Rosie genuinely felt like a friend to me because she told me everything. Well obviously she didn’t tell me, but it felt like she did. I was so glad that the book ended the way it did, because if SOMEBODY and SOMEBODY hadn’t have got together it would’ve been awful. The way the ending was written was beautifully understated and I’m really happy that there wasn’t a huge wedding with ten babies and everybody lived in castle.

My favourite part excluding the ending was when Rosie read Alex’s letter. It’s beautiful. I’m tempted to print that letter out and stick it on my wall but that would probably be a bit weird. It was such a relief that Rosie eventually got to read the letter, because I was scared she never would and then I would have been completely heartbroken. I think it’s impossible for you not to love Alex and Rosie, because they have a love story so stunning yet tragic, that it could make anybody cry over it.

I never usually recommend books to my family, especially after my mum became obsessed with Twilight and Robert Pattinson. However, I have told my family (well not my dad) to read this book, because it’s so good they can’t NOT read it. It’s an absolutely superb movie as well. You definitely need to read this.

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

