Top 5 Christmas Movies

Hello! I didn’t realise I actually have a couple of Sunday posts to catch up on so I’m going to post another one after this! I decided that as I haven’t posted too many Christmas type posts on my blog, I might as well write one last Christmas blog. One thing I always wanted to write about on my old book blog was movies and I never could, so I am delighted to now be counting down my top 5 Christmas movies. I must confess, I have never seen a Home Alone movie so none of them will make it to the countdown!

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

When I first watched it I was stunned by how brilliantly unique and unexpected this movie was. I thought it would be an extremely festive movie with maybe presents going wrong on the night before Christmas. When Jack went to Christmas Town, it was extremely festive and the epitome of Christmas! If I remember correctly, the presents did go wrong as well. However, I what I did not expect was the expert blend between Halloween and Christmas. I think it was a stroke of genius to combine Halloween and Christmas into one story and that’s why I thought it was a great movie!

  1. A Christmas Carol (2009)

I absolutely love the story of ‘A Christmas Carol’ and I particularly enjoyed this film version! I really loved the way that the ghosts were portrayed- I thought the graphics were excellent. The cartoon element was amazing because it gave the film a childlike magic to it, even when the story became ‘scary’ in parts. I remember watching the film for the first time and being amazed when Scrooge flew over the snowy landscape with The Ghost of Christmas Past. I think this part very beautifully captured Christmas!

  1. Nativity! (2009)

Initially, I was quite sceptical as to whether I would enjoy the childish humour of the film, but I was pleasantly surprised but how much I loved the film! I think Mr Poppy is just an absolutely sensational character and he really made me laugh and get in the Christmas spirit. Even though I’m not child anymore, I still think this is an incredible, feel-good movie- the children put a smile on my face! The songs in it are actually very catchy and I enjoy singing along to them throughout the film. At the end of the film, the final Nativity that is performed is a lot of festive fun!

  1. Love Actually (2003)

Not only is this my second favourite Christmas movie, but it is also my second favourite movie of all time! I think it is such a clever movie to be able to interlock all the individual stories together to make one magical Christmas story! There are so many incredibly talented actors in this movie such as Alan Rickman and Kiera Knightley. I especially love Hugh Grant as the Prime minister- the scene where he dances is my favourite movie scene of all time- I just find it absolutely hilarious. I think this movie shows Christmas from all different points of view, so I think most people should be able to relate to this wonderful movie!

  1. The Holiday (2006)

This just happens to be my favourite movie of all time! It is utterly magical and romantic. I adore the relationship between Jude Law and Cameron Diaz as well as the relationship between Kate Winslet and Jack Black, but I especially find Jude and Cameron heart-warming and adorable. My favourite scene is when the little girls are in the tent with Jude and Cameron, looking up at the stars on the tent roof. I always laugh when one of the girls says: “I really like it.” I do find that scene very touching as it captures what I think Christmas is all about- spending time with the ones you love.

I hope you have enjoyed my top 5 Christmas movies countdown!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

