Famous in Love Review

Hello! Last Monday I was going to review Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle. I am so excited that it’s being made into a TV series! I hope you enjoy this post (sorry it’s late!)

The romantic story of a girl who gets plucked from obscurity to star in the next major feature film franchise based on a book and the ensuing love triangles she gets entangled in on—-and off screen.

Meet Paige Townsen, Rainer Devon, and Jordan Wilder…

When Paige Townsen, a young unknown, gets cast in the movie adaptation of a blockbuster book series, her life changes practically overnight. Within a month, Paige has traded the quiet streets of her hometown for a crowded movie set on the shores of Maui, and is spending quality time with her co-star Rainer Devon, one of People’s Sexiest Men Alive. But when troubled star Jordan Wilder lands the role of the other point in the movie’s famous love triangle, Paige’s crazy new life gets even crazier.

In this coming-of-age romance inspired by the kind of celeb hookups that get clever nicknames and a million page views, Paige must figure out who she is – and who she wants – while the whole world watches.

 

Wow. Doesn’t that sound amazing? I just love the whole idea of the book. I probably would’ve loved reading the book that this book is about but wow this is just even better. In my opinion, it’s like a book about when Twilight was turned into a movie, except it’s based on a totally different story with more relatable characters in it.

I would give this book 5 stars which is extremely rare for me, I definitely don’t have more than 10 books that I’ve rated 5 stars. Maybe if I was to change something, it would be her friends. She has two best friends that sort of ruin book. They have problems and I don’t really care about that, I want to know about Paige and Rainer. The book isn’t OTT or anything so that’s good. I wasn’t sure about the ending though.

I think the thing I love most about the book is that it’s set in Hawaii. If it was set anywhere else it would’ve been a bit boring, but everyone knows Hawaii is paradise. I need to go there now, it sounds amazinggg. Also, it reminds me of one of my favourite songs ‘Paradise’ (by Jack and Jack) and I just thought that was cute.

 

Famous in Love was about a bestselling trilogy called Locked being turned into a movie. There is actually a novella called Locked that I read afterwards. I had really high expectations of it, but sadly it didn’t meet my expectations. I don’t know whether I didn’t like it that much because I sort of forced myself to read it in one go, but yeah it just wasn’t that great. The whole tribe thing on the island bored me.

 

Noah and August’s relationship was going nowhere as well. I wish there was more writing about Noah and August and it would be better if it was developed fluidly. I felt like random bits of their relationship was shoved onto the pages. To be honest it felt like the author couldn’t be bothered to write it. Something else should have happened on the island. It was literally: boy and girl crash on island, boy finds out the island needs him, girl goes away on a helicopter

 

I REALLY REALLY want Famous in Love to become a movie. I don’t really know how that would work, because they’d have to have camera crew filming camera crew, but you know it could work. It would be awesome because it’s in Hawaii and there would be loads of shots of the sea and beach. I haven’t ever watched a fictional movie about a movie being made, so I think it would do really well because it’s original. It is pretty cool that it’s being made into a TV series but I think it would be better as a movie.

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

