Local Anaesthetic- Poem

Local Anaesthetic

Hi! Today I am sharing with you a poem I wrote about loss.

 

Well my story starts with a man

Who has no care for anybody but him.

He makes me cry and he doesn’t realise

That I’ll love him through thick and thin.

Now this is where it gets strange,

For he knows who I am yet-

He doesn’t know me the way I know him.

 

Now I’m down under,

Local anaesthetic’s numbing my mind.

The pain that I felt before,

I’ve gone and left it behind.

 

He was with a beautiful girl,

Who he travelled with all over the world.

The stalker that I became saw it all

Through pictures and tales-

That I wasn’t meant to have heard.

Eventually he left anyway.

 

Now I’m down under,

Local anaesthetic’s numbing my mind.

The pain that I felt before,

I’ve gone and left it behind.

 

Your jumper hangs from trees in shreds,

Fire read the letters you never would,

Beer balloons are released in the sky,

I’m letting go of you, like I should never have had to do

And I’m still aware of your name but now it brings me no pain.

 

Now I’m down under,

Local anaesthetic’s numbing my mind.

The pain that I felt before,

I’ve gone and left it behind.

 

Now I’m down under,

Local anaesthetic’s numbing my mind.

The pain that I felt before,

I’ve gone and left it behind.

Behind.

 

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

