Twilight Review

Hi!

Apparently, I originally wrote this at 5:24am so sorry if it’s worse than usual! I was extremely tired so bear with me. One of my favourite books was Twilight so I’m going to review that. (The blurb is a bit dodgy today as it’s taken from a random place on the internet).

When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret.

What Bella doesn’t realize is that closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. And it might be too late to turn back…

Okay so firstly, that blurb doesn’t sound anything like Twilight but I’m pretty sure most people know what Twilight is anyway. If you don’t, it’s sort of a vampire, werewolf, human love triangle thing. It’s honestly sooo good, I don’t know how it gets loads of hate. It’s really romantic but a thriller at the same time.

One of the criticisms is that Edward and Bella have an abusive relationship. I would disagree with that because he shouted at her one time and never purposely hurt her. He never even asked her to change for him- she decided all that herself. Bella’s very stubborn actually and does stand up to Edward when he gets a bit controlling.

I love how Bella is actually a normal person. I know it’s a bit judgemental but when I watched Twilight for the first time, I was like ‘oh she’s not that pretty (Kristen Stewart)’. That probably sounds really bad but she is pretty and she became more gorgeous as the movies went on, not that that’s important anyway. It’s just nice that she’s not a super model that girls are forever comparing themselves to. In the book I know she wasn’t described as one of these perfect girls, she was an outcast- she constantly wore brown jumpers and never see through tops.

Also, I love how the book is about vampires but it’s not too ‘vampirish’. For example, in Morganville Vampires all these vampires were in charge and ran around drinking everyone’s blood. It’s not so overpowering in Twilight and it has a really nice interpretation of vampires. I love the whole self-control and glitter thing.

The thing that strikes me most is how beautiful the language is. People have said Stephenie Meyer is an awful writer but I completely disagree. How is ‘I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him’ a bad piece of writing? I find her writing memorable and emotional. I started a quote bank once and nearly all the quotes were from Twilight. I just love her writing.

Interestingly, I do not like Twilight anymore (the rest of this post was written months ago) so I find it very intriguing to see what I once thought about it. What is your opinion on Twilight? I wonder if anyone else’s opinion has changed about it, like mine. Bye!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

