How to be a Woman- Review

Hello! This week’s review is of How to be a woman- by Caitlin Moran. I wrote this review after reading perhaps a quarter of the book and I must confess- I am yet to read anymore! The first part that I read didn’t blow me away but I did enjoy it as I’ve never read anything quite like it. It’s got a fictional style to it but it’s mainly autobiographical. It’s about a woman’s life from her teen years to her thirties, all about her learning ‘how to be a woman’.

 

It’s a good time to be a woman: we have the vote and the Pill, and we haven’t been burnt as witches since 1727. However, a few nagging questions do remain…

Why are we supposed to get Brazilians? Should we use Botox? Do men secretly hate us? And why does everyone ask you when you’re going to have a baby?

Part memoir, part rant, Caitlin answers the questions that every modern woman is asking.

 

I really liked how in the book she dismissed the stereotypes and expectations of how women should be. At the time I read part of this book I had been studying women in the media in my English lessons and there had been quite a lot of negative things about women in the media. That’s why I think it’s great that there’s books out there that say ‘it’s ok to be different, nobody’s perfect’.

Whilst I was reading this book I was thinking about Bridget Jones’ Diary. I love Bridget Jones’ Diary because it helped me to be able to spell diary instead of writing dairy. No but seriously, it is also a fantastic book. I remember watching the extras DVD from Bridget Jones’ Diary and I watched a video that backed up the main message of How to be a woman.

The video showed many women being interviewed about who Bridget is to them. Many people were saying that Bridget was an inspiration to them. They said how much they loved Bridget, because she’s just a normal imperfect human being that makes mistakes all the time- but it’s ok. I love Bridget Jones’ Diary and once again it’s brilliant to have books out there that challenge the ‘perfect’ women we see in the media.

I suppose I adore Bridget Jones’ Diary so much because it’s hilarious as well as relatable. I think everybody has met or known a Bridget at some point in their life, or themselves are a Bridget. In my mind I see it as a realistic Twilight (I’m obsessed with Twilight but we’ll leave that for another day) with the love triangle thing going on. So that’s a lovely book- thumbs up.

I apologise for that turning into a Bridget Jones review! Another day I will post an actual review of Bridget Jones’s Diary because it is one of my favourite books. іAdios!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

