Fictional Food

Hello! This is definitely the most fun post I’ve done so far. I felt like doing some cooking and I thought I could incorporate it into the blog. What I ended up doing, was making three things that are in books. I made: Dauntless chocolate cake, Capitol raspberry soup and Amma’s peach pie.

Each thing was really easy to make and I just made it up really. I’m not going to put a whole recipe thing up but if anyone wants to know just leave a comment. I thought it would be cool to just show you a picture of each finished products and add in extracts from the books about them.

Capitol raspberry soup:

Admittedly, I didn’t remember this being in THG, but I was looking for ideas for other fictional things to make and I found this on another blog. It’ sort of like a smoothie or a yoghurt but anyway it tastes really nice and creamy. It’s basically just raspberries, yoghurt, sugar and juice that I put in a blender and then added in to whipped cream.

“Okay, no more than one bite of each dish,” I say. My resolve is almost immediately broken at the first table, which has twenty or so soups, when I encounter a creamy pumpkin brew sprinkled with slivered nuts and tiny black seeds. “I could just eat this all night!” I exclaim. But I don’t. I weaken again at a clear green broth that I can only describe as tasting like springtime, and again when I try a frothy pink soup dotted with raspberries.”

Dauntless Chocolate Cake:

When I came up with the idea of doing fictional food, I thought I have to make dauntless chocolate cake. There’s always tons of memes and things about Tobias and cake on my instagram feed. Dauntless chocolate cake must taste amazing so I decided to make the best chocolate cake ever. The best I ever had was out of a Betty Crocker’s mix and it was for brownies but still it’s lush.

“Peter would probably throw a party if I stopped breathing,”

“Well,” he says, “I would only go if there was cake.”

 

“Let’s go to the cafeteria,” Will says, “And eat cake.”

 

“Have a piece of cake for me, alright? The chocolate, it’s delicious.”

 

Amma’s Peach Pie:

The final thing I made was Amma’s peach pie. Amma’s pies must be amazing because she always wins prizes for them. To be honest this pie was a bit dodgy because I’ve never made pie before but it tasted ok!

“Don’t you lay a finger on a single one a my pies until I ask you to, Ethan Wate.”

I backed away from Amma, hands in the air. “Just trying to help.”

She glared at me while she wrapped a sweet potato pie, a two-time winner, in a clean dish towel. The sour cream and raisin pie sat on the kitchen table next to the buttermilk pie, ready for the ice box. The fruit pies were still cooling on the racks, and a dusting of white flour coated every surface in the kitchen.

 

‘Today was the single biggest day of Amma’s year. She had won first place in baked an fried fruit pies and second place in cream pies every year at the Gatlin county fair for as long as I could remember.’

 

I hope you enjoyed my post!

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

