The Secret Story- Review

Aloha

Today I thought I would do a review of my favourite Cathy Hopkins book- Mates, dates: The Secret Story.

At last the full story of Tony and Lucy’s romance can be revealed…

Lucy

Dad slowed down the car as the traffic lights changed and it was then that I saw him. A vision of boy babeness. Dark. Handsome. Chiselled jaw. My heart sped up. It did a boom banga bang in my chest.

Tony

‘So what do you think of Lucy and Izzie?’ asked Nesta.

‘Sweet,’ I said.

‘Both of them?’

‘Which is which again?’

Tony has no idea that he is about to fall for the lively, elfin Lucy. But the course of true love never did run smooth – and reading his side of the story as well as hers is an irresistible treat for all Mates, Dates fans. The thirteenth book in the highly successful Mates, Dates series.

 

This is a spin off book to the Mates, dates series that includes all of Lucy and Tony’s relationship in the series, plus some extra material. I love the whole series, especially Lucy’s books so this is literally the perfect book. I actually read this book before reading the series, so even if you haven’t read the series, it’s still a great book to read. This book is so adorable and cute! My favourite genre is YA romance so well done to this book! I’ve read this book too many times over the last five years. I would probably say it’s one of my favourite books ever. The other books in the series are amazing too and a lovely bit of light reading.

I like this book a lot because I don’t really have to think about what’s happening when I’m reading it. Also it’s just really cute and ‘aww’ if that’s a thing. I like how it’s got bits from all the different books put together to make one story- that’s quite a good idea. It’s really ‘girly’ and it’s good for people that want a quick read that’s not too depressing. It has everything in it- so if you want to cry or laugh or whatever then you go read it! The characters are relatable and human so don’t worry about complicated vampire stuff either.

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

