Books I want my future kids to read

Hello-  here is another post from the book blog:

Cowabunga dude(s)

Sorry for some reason my friends and I have been saying ‘cowabunga dude’ all week. Ok so today I’m doing ‘books I want my future kids to read’. I find this hilarious because I can’t imagine myself with kids but I’m just going along the lines of books I want the next generation to read.

The Fault in Our Stars- John Green

Almost everyone I know has read this book, even people that aren’t even in to reading much. This is basically the book of our generation. So far, I haven’t come across one person that hasn’t fallen in love with it. When I went to see it in the cinema, literally the whole audience came out with mascara streaked down their face. It’s just so powerful and I’m not sure how high it ranks in my favourite books, but it’s possibly joint first place for my favourite movie of all time.

Soulmates- Holly Bourne

I would never forgive my children if they didn’t read this. Soulmates is the best book ever written in my opinion. There are many better books out there for descriptive writing and story lines, but the content of it is adorable and actually there’s a twist on it that’s really original. I think when your children are an appropriate age they should read your favourite book, as if it means a lot to you it will probably mean a lot to them.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky

So I haven’t read this book yet but I promised myself I would read it before Christmas. However, I have seen the movie and I know the book will be amazing. This book is important for children to read because there are lots of valuable bits in there I want my children to know. I want my children to know drugs exist, it’s okay to be gay and at some point in their life they may experience mental health problems, but someone will always be there for them.

The Magic Faraway Tree- Enid Blyton

Obviously this book would be for younger readers, even though I still love reading it now. I was obsessed with Enid Blyton when I was little but I don’t remember any of her books being amazing apart from The Magic Faraway Tree. I was given the first two books for my 7th birthday and I remember staying up till 11 using my mini torch to read them under the duvet because they were soo good. I find them enchanting and wonderful in every single way.

Here Lies Bridget- Paige Harbison

This book isn’t a stand out book or even one of my favourite books. I did like it but it wasn’t as romantic as I would’ve liked and I didn’t really connect with any of the characters. The reason I thought children should read it is because it’s all about mistakes. I think its important children understand people make mistakes but what’s important is how you deal with them.

I am looking forward to next Tuesday’s post as I get a chance to write a lot of negative stuff! Good bye

Love, Sydney

Leave a Reply

